last day of public school in nyc

morning everyone;

Today is the last day of public school for most NYC students. I can’t say about others but this year felt as it went by too quickly for me.. I kept busy with parent teacher conferences, I was the vice president in my son’s pta. It was just one thing after another..  

Just last night I was talking with my 2 oldest kids and asked them what the heck did they learn from this years academic experience. From our  conversation it seems that my 4th grader got mostly all the multiplication  table mesmerized which is great (I guess) considering we grown ups use calculators and all electronic devices comes with one, she learned to work with decimal and percentages (this would be great when she had to calculate with a calculator her future bills),when it came to science she learned about molecules(um yeah I bet you remember this) and did one major project on rain forest (with my help of course), in social studies  she said she learned about the Dutch and the Native Americans (let’s not get into this), she learned  about the oceans (we all did once upon a time) , starting  writing in script and different style of writing (this I like). In gym class they now do fitness exercises (lol) not like back in my days where we played killer dodge ball and soft ball and learned how to double Dutch or rolled around in the matts.

After a few more subject that she seems to be already forgetting, I asked her.. so what did you learn in reference to people, teachers, classmates and bff.. you see as a mother this is our underlining, we should want to get to know our children as people. So she says adults curse way too much, she learned that she feels comfortable talking to teachers and she knows they are there to help (aww this is nice, I have to send a thank you note to them), she considers her classmates mean she said it was just too many of them to keep up with they all want attention and to be bff and the gossip never ended (she don’t even know how true this is), and about her bff she simply loves them. she said that was one of the best reasons to go to school.

So now with this new information I have to figure out how to make her feel not so sad for next school year when they all graduate from 5th grade and go their separate ways to J.H.S. 

this is how I live and go by.. my  worry and best interest for my  children will never die.

Wow I believe this is the longest blog I written so far. I will wait a few hours and write about my conversation with my teen son (10th grader) later on..

Have a great day

and happy blogging

Sonia

About sonia3kids

A single mother of 3.. and so much thoughts going inside my mind... I like to keep busy and learn new things. I love life and some of the things it offers. I love that YOU have the power and control to choose what you will do with your own life.. your choices your lessons your PROBLEMS lol
This entry was posted in my first few blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to last day of public school in nyc

Leave a Reply

